• Heart Failure
  • Cardiovascular Clinical Consult
  • Adult Immunization
  • Hepatic Disease
  • Rare Disorders
  • Pediatric Immunization
  • Implementing The Topcon Ocular Telehealth Platform
  • Weight Management
  • Monkeypox
  • Guidelines
  • Men's Health
  • Psychiatry
  • Allergy
  • Nutrition
  • Women's Health
  • Cardiology
  • Substance Use
  • Pediatrics
  • Kidney Disease
  • Genetics
  • Complimentary & Alternative Medicine
  • Dermatology
  • Endocrinology
  • Oral Medicine
  • Otorhinolaryngologic Diseases
  • Pain
  • Gastrointestinal Disorders
  • Geriatrics
  • Infection
  • Musculoskeletal Disorders
  • Obesity
  • Rheumatology
  • Technology
  • Cancer
  • Nephrology
  • Anemia
  • Neurology
  • Pulmonology

SARS-CoV-2 Variants: How Many and How Dangerous?


The CDC defines 3 classes of SARS-CoV-2 variants: Variants of interest, of concern, and of high consequence. Find out more about the 8 variants now being closely observed.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) classify SARS-CoV-2 variants in circulation in the United States as variants of interest, variants of concern, and variants of high consequence.

Each classification describes and identifies the variant in terms of its impact on critical SARS-CoV-2 countermeasures including vaccines, therapeutics and diagnostics. Variants of interest in the US right now include the 2 identified in New York at the end of 2020; variants of concern to the CDC include those from the UK and South Africa.

The following slides summarize the most salient details on 8 SARS-CoV-2 variants of interest and concern to the CDC as of March 30, 2021. The CDC data are updated regularly.

Related Videos
"Vaccination is More of a Marathon than a Sprint"
Vaccines are for Kids, Booster Fatigue, and Other Obstacles to Adult Immunization
Document COVID Sequelae and Primary Care: An Interview with Samoon Ahmad, MD
© 2024 MJH Life Sciences

All rights reserved.